My parents (Guest Poem by Holly age 14)

My parents

I thought my mum and dad loved each other,
After all they made me.
I just imagined they would grow old together
Huddled round the fire
And I would make tea.

But it is not to be,
I don’t know why they fell out of love,
I wonder was it something I said,
I cry in my bed at night and pray
That God would put them back together

But I wake up every morning and now it is just mum and me
I see my dad at the weekend
But really it isn’t the same
I see mum crying sometimes but she tries for me not to see.

If I could wish something for Christmas
It would be for my mum and dad to be together again
But as it is I can’t see it happening.

So it will be Christmas Day with mum
And Boxing Day with dad.
I still wonder was it something I said.

Holly age 14

4 thoughts on “My parents (Guest Poem by Holly age 14)

Leave a Reply

