Royal Wedding 29th April 2011 Prince William & Kate Middleton

The fever of the Royal Wedding surrounds us everywhere, it doesn’t matter whether you are a Royalist or not; the excitement of the day is unquenchable.

 

Prince William and Kate Middleton are marrying on the 29th April in Westminster Abbey and if you don’t know that, you have been living in a cave.

 

They have chosen the 29th April as the day to betroth their love and back in 1981; Prince Charles and Lady Diana married on the 29th July. 

 

I watched the Royal Wedding back in 1981 with such excitement.  I remember spending the of the day plonked in front of the television.  My mum had made some gorgeous nibbles and splurged out on a bottle of champagne.

 

The wedding holds such vivid memories, although I was deeply mesmerised by the ‘dress’ designed by Elizabeth and David Emmanuel.   It really was a magical wedding and the horses and carriage added such glamour to the occasion.   People cared and wanted to share in the event by holding numerous street parties, making cakes, and the flags waving outside Buckingham Palace.  Comradeship was so evident in the 1980’s where people knew their next-door neighbours by name.  I hope this Royal Wedding will bring back the community spirit that is so lacking in today’s insular society.

 

I will be watching my second Royal Wedding and I will be like a little girl in a sweet shop full of joy and happiness.  But do you know what I most remember about that day back on the 29th July 1981; it wasn’t the dress, it wasn’t the horses or the flags ~ it was the simple pleasure of spending the day enjoying the company of my mother and we had so much fun.  That day in 1981 will always hold a special part of my heart so it is with a little sadness that tomorrow I can’t have her with me.   I will raise my glass to Prince William and Princess Kate (if that is her title) and look up into the sky and say ‘hi mum’ here’s to you.

Prince William’s most special day of his life will be without  his beloved mother Diana  ~  but we know he holds his mother’s memories close to his heart due to the engagement ring he has given Kate.  

Kate is a most beautiful and elegant woman, she will surely make a fine Princess for our Prince William.   The most eligible bachelor in the land has now been taken.  But I don’t think any of us can deny they seem to make such a wonderful couple.   I think she will carry out her royal role admirably.  And of course, being a girl I can’t wait to see ‘the dress’! 

 

So enjoy the Royal Wedding it is an opportunity to make new friends, seek out old ones and spend the day with loved ones. 

 

To Prince William and the beautiful Kate

 

Congratulations to you and wishing you both a very long and happy marriage. 

 

Enjoy your day,

 

Lots of Love

Lana x

One thought on “Royal Wedding 29th April 2011 Prince William & Kate Middleton

  1. I was incredibly pleased to find this website. I wanted to thanks for your time for this great read!! I legitimately enjoying every small bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

