Do you believe in miracles?

So here’s my story. About 9 years ago, I had this great notion I would like to play the piano. I didn’t know how to read music, I had no piano and I do not have any natural rhythm.
But I started slowly, I taught myself to read music, I bought a cheap £60 piano and started to learn which notes were which on the piano. I did this every day for at least 30 minutes. Once I started understanding the notes I found a local piano teacher, he was used to teaching youngsters but said he would take me on. It was an arduous task for both him and I, very frustrating and often I felt like giving up. He would slap my hands even though he said ‘I have never slapped a pupil’s hands in all my years of teaching’.
However, I persevered and at that stage did not see the point of taking exams as I was never going to be good enough to play in public.  But this year for some weird reason, I decided to take the plunge and enter myself into Grade 1. My teacher was actually distraught; he felt to enter me would undermine his credibility as a teacher. So I just entered myself.
Naturally I would be quite nervous but not to the extent my hands were shaking like a jelly on a rollercoaster. If I thought I was nervous when I first went on stage that was nothing compared to taking a piano exam. The room was full of 8 year olds and one was warming up and I felt defeated, my piano playing sounds nothing like that. The receptionist looked at me twice Grade 1 at your age she was thinking and smiled with sadness at me saying ‘you are brave’. Brave no, not at all, stupid maybe. Who needs enemies when my piano teacher encourages me by saying ‘I won’t wish you luck, you’ll need a miracle, you know you will fail don’t you?
Now you know as much as I do, it is difficult to believe in yourself and even more difficult when no-one believes in you either. But I am not one to give up.
So I took the exam, my fingers shaking, having to do a couple of re-starts, just thinking let’s get through this rather like my driving test (which I took 4 times). This morning the exam result was through, my tummy was doing somersaults, my mouth was dry. Did I really want to know how I failed? But I forced myself to log in and ………………………….. Blimey guess what I passed with a mark of 102! I rang my piano teacher who literally was in shock!
So my message to you today, is when no-one believes in you, when you don’t believe in yourself.

Keep going, keep going. Sometimes miracles do happen.piano-clip-art-piano-clipart-7

Leave a Reply

