Happy Mother’s Day

“My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother.  I attribute my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her.” 

― George Washington

I love Mother’s Day, it gives us time and space to honour our dear Mother.  We can take a breath in this busy, sometimes harsh world to ‘thank’ her for the sacrifices she has made.  We often forget the many things she  does for us, cleaning, chef, taxi-driver, seamstress, teacher, all-round expert on everything!

My Mother sadly died when I was in my early 20’s but she remains with me in my heart every second of the day.  Her values of moral fibre run through me as the blood that keeps me alive.   She is the light inside of me that spurs me on when things don’t go my way.   The strength I can find, is superhuman to get me through difficult times because of the strength she had, to carry on in the face of her own illness.  Yet she remained an elegant, serene, kind and loving lady.

I hope never to go through all the difficulties she encountered in her short life and I am always in awe of her strength of character.  I could never match her kindness of heart in putting someone’s needs before her own needs, she never said no to offering strangers help.   She was a very talented lady and I am yet to find my true talents but I won’t give up, because she never gave up.  People say I am as a strong as an ox and yes I am, but I owe this to the power of love that was given to me by my mother.

I know some of you won’t be feeling this way about your mother, because you didn’t have a good relationship.  But you do have love and please share that love with those you consider a motherly figure or even just your friends.  The more we can be kind in heart and mind, the better it is for the world.

If you’ve got love, you will always have the most precious gift.

Love and Light

Lana xxxx

Leave a Reply

